United Nations: Election of five new non-permanent members of the Security Council​

Belgium congratulates Estonia, Niger, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Tunisia and Vietnam on their election as non-permanent members of the United Nations Security Council. They will join the Council for a period of two years from January 1st 2020.

Belgium is looking forward to a close cooperation with these countries in the Security Council in 2020. Our country will reach out to the newly elected members to prepare this cooperation as good as possible on a variety of topics. As stated in the Charter of the United Nations, the Security Council has the primary responsibility for international peace and security.


Belgium security council


Belgium is confident that the newly elected members will commit themselves to foster consensus and act for peace. In this way, we can provide credible and efficient multilateral solutions to the many challenges ahead and contribute to maintaining the multilateral rules-based order.