From January 1st an additional 20,000 vehicles will be affected by the new phase of the Low Emission Zone in Brussels

From 1 January next, the low emission zone (LEZ) of the Brussels Region will move into its second phase. The list of too polluting vehicles for the Region will grow. Euro 2 diesel vehicles will no longer be allowed in the capital. These are vehicles that were registered for the first time between 1997 and 2000.



Gasoline vehicles with standards 0 and 1 will also be banned as of Tuesday. Vehicles whose first registration dates from before 1996 are concerned.

According to the cabinet of the Brussels Minister of the Environment, no less than 19,000 new vehicles are involved. This represents 4% of the Brussels car fleet.

Offenders risk 350 euros fine.