Names of victims of Brussels terrorist attack inscribed on Maelbeek metro station wall

A ceremony commemorating the three year anniversary of the March 22, 2016 Brussels terrorist attacks was held on March 22 at Maelbeek metro station. The names of those killed at Maelbeek were revealed to have been inscribed on the station’s wall.

The event began at 9am, in the presence of about fifty survivors of the attack and their loved ones. Brussels Minister-President Rudi Vervoort, Mobility Minister Pascal Smet and the capital’s mayor Philippe Close were also present, as were several firefighters, policemen and representatives from the Red Cross.




The names of the 16 people who lost their lives in the Maelbeek attack can now be viewed by members of the public on the station’s wall right next Benoît Van Innis’ iconic artwork.

During the ceremony, two survivors spoke and shared their experiences. “We must fight for a more tolerant society,” one of them said during a poignant speech. Both thanked the emergency services for “their heroic efforts and deeds”.

The ceremony ended at 10am with a minute of silence. Rudi Vervoort and Philippe Close each placed a wreath at the foot of the wall in remembrance.

“It was important to be present to support the victims,” said the Brussels mayor after the ceremony had concluded. “Nothing could have been prepared the victims for what they had to face that day. We want to show that Brussels does not forget them.”