Belgian club becomes European hockey champion

The Waterloo Ducks are the first club in the history of Belgian hockey to become European champions.

The Waterloo Ducks, a Belgian field hockey club from Walloon Brabant, won the 12thEuro Hockey League. The final took place in Eindhoven on Monday 22 April 2019 between the Belgians and the German team Rot-Weiss Köln (from Cologne). The Walloon Brabant team won 4-0 thanks to goals by William Ghislain, Gauthier Boccard, Maxime Bertrand and Quentin Van Lierde.

The Euro Hockey League is the biggest hockey competition in Europe. It takes place every year and brings together the best European clubs. Their victory over the German club meant that the Waterloo Ducks became the first Belgian club to win this competition. It has won the Belgian championships five times (2006, 2009, 2012, 2013 and 2014).

This is not the first time that a Belgian club has reached the finals of the Euro Hockey League. In 2013, the Antwerp club KHC Dragons won the silver medal after losing 0-2 to the Dutch club HC Bloemendaal.