Belgians no longer need a visa to visit Uzbekistan

President Shavkat Mirziyoyev announced last January 5 that Uzbekistan will no longer require visas for visitors from 45 countries, including Belgium and many other European countries. Tourists will be able to stay in Uzbekistan for up to 30 days without a visa starting on 1 February.

From February 1, 2019, the following countries will be able to enter Uzbekistan visa free for up to 30 days: Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Cyprus, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovenia, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, Vatican City. Nationals of France, Israel, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, Singapore, South Korea, and Turkey were granted visa free access in 2018. Germans will have visa free access from 15 January, 2019.

This decision follows  the implementation of an e-visa scheme last July 2018.